The 3rd Journalists International Forum For Migration-JIFORM Global Migration Summit to be held in Canada between October-10 has announced former Canada minister of Citizenship and Immigration, Hon Gerry Weiner and others as dignitaries to be honoured with international leadership awards. Also joining the league of speakers at the event is Lateefat Oyeyemi Kolapo, the CEO of The Point Newspapers, Nigeria, who is to speak on the challenges of journalists on migration reportage.

A statement from Germany signed by Teresa Jacob, the Communication Secretary of the summit named the deserving awardees to include Prince Yinka Farinde, the CEO of Abedorc Productions Inc Canada, Professor Byron Price of Medgar Evers College, City University, Brooklyn, Dr Adrew S. Nevin and the Home for Needy, a foundation in Benin City, Nigeria dedicated to care services for victims of forced migration and other less privilege in the society.

Dr Ajibola Abayomi
Gerry Weiner

The statement also quoted the President of the JIFORM, Dr Ajibola Abayomi, from Nigeria saying “time has come for all of us to be involved to understand the dynamism of migration and show love to the migrants by encouraging them to understand that regular migration remains the only profitable human mobility.

“The JIFORM shall continue to serve as a rally point to engage stakeholders and the media on the need to also report that which is factual with human face about migration because human lives are involved”.

Guest speakers at the event will include  Professor Patrick Lumumba; the Minister of Labour and Social Security Sierra Leone; Dr Alpha Osman Timbo; Nigeria’s Minister of State for Labour and Employment, Chief Festus Keyamo, SAN; the Director Asia Migration Forum, Mr William Gois; Professor Byron Price from the City University, USA; member African Union Labour Migration Advisory Committee from Ghana, Dr Princess Asie Kabuki Ocansey; the Director Asia-Pacific Institute for Broadcasting Development, Malaysia, Ms. Philomena Gnanapragasam and Lateefat Oyeyemi Kolapo, the CEO of the Point Newspapers.

Others are Chairman Nigeria House of Representatives, Hon Tolulope Akande-Sadipe; President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, Christopher Isiguso, Partner & Chief Economist, PwC, Dr Andrew. S Nevin; Director Cross River State Migration Control Agency, Dr Michael Nku-Abuo and Solomon. A Folorunsho, the Chairman Home For the Needy. Organizations also listed for participation included International Organization for Migration (IOM), First Friday, Canada, and Ravyo Travels Limited.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.